Collab reviews – real or scam? T-Post

There are so many of the collab or ambassador offers these days, and honestly, most of them aren’t real or have catches that make it not worth your time. My latest is T-post, who I confess, I’d not heard of until today.

I find it fascinating how many I get considering my followers are fairly low, but I get them more often than I’d like.

T-Post contacted me by email, which is somewhat less common, my email is below. Peter doesn’t say where he saw me, where he got my email or what it is about my “style” that he likes. To be honest I’m not sure what made him email me, but I’d wager I was on a long list of email addresses and he was just chancing it. I’d also suggest he used an automated system and has no idea who I am.

Just for some clarification, below are a couple of shots from their site and a couple of shots from my social media.

I mean, I could be persuaded to wear one with a pencil skirt or something, but I don’t often wear big tshirts, and rarely ones like this. I’d much rather get a nice replacement for my Ace Rimmer shirt, but I digress.

So I’ve done a little digging into reviews etc and you’ll find links and quotes below.

Scam Detector – they rated the site 87.7, this is for sales not collab as far as I can see. Overall they’ve not found many complaints, but they do point out that big known brands get a lot of complaints but it doesn’t make them a scam, poor customer service maybe, but not a scam. Their rating suggests the site isn’t a scam, but isn’t very well known.

We Make Money Not Art – this site actually gives you a better idea of what the tshirts look like than their own site does, so if you want a better idea of what they’ve produced in the past, this has some great pictures. They discuss the subscription service that you have to sign up to, to get the tshirts, and they state that it takes about 3 weeks to arrive.

Reddit – we all know Reddit is a real mixture of things, some trustworthy, many silly and many that won’t be covered here šŸ¤£. The feedback on here, while difficult to rate on trustworthiness, isn’t overly complimentary. Reviews suggest that there is no way to remove your card details from the site once joined, that you’ll need to contact the company to cancel and that their replies aren’t very reliable. Overall it was pretty off putting for me, after only a few posts, I wasn’t ready to risk signing up.

Trust Pilot – most of the reviews here are good, 5 star, 1 sentence reviews, but on closer inspection a lot of them are from people who’ve never bothered to review anything else, ever. In contrast, when they’re not positive, they’re very negative, with a few posts claiming scams. One post does state that it’s a not a scam, but not worth signing up to, as it’s so hard to cancel again.

Like many collab offers, this plays on people’s desire to be an influencer, to be able to get freebies for their reviews, but there are no freebies to be had here. Like most offers you’ll be a sales person really, you’ll wear their clothes, pay out of your pocket and maybe, maybe make a small percentage if anyone uses your code or link. Until they make it clearer, more obvious as to what you’re getting into, and make it a lot easier to get out I would personally steer clear. And I stand by that, I emailed Peter back and told him that for myself, until its definitely safe, I won’t be giving it a try.

Published by Michelle Quinton

Mum, wife, perpetual student, freelance writer, weight loss coach, artist and occasionally model. I love to try new things, I love to write and I love studying and researching. Never thought I'd see the day that studying became something I enjoyed, but here we are. My blog is where I put my thoughts, I also plan to start a blog of short stories, with a new prompt for each story.

Leave a comment

The United Nations of Photography

The intention of our presence here is not to fulfill expectations. It is to promote questioning and debate. Both of which should be respectful and informed. Learning comes from listening not shouting. Our opinions may not be yours, and that is how it should be.

Enter the woo . . .

Come visualize what I'm saying.

NON-SCALE

Weigh the Difference

The Angry Noodle

Posts for the speculative, cooked to al dente. *noodle noises*